Lucero’s 100 Day Challenge: Draw, and Don’t Waste Time

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Lucero’s 100 Day Challenge: Draw, and Don’t Waste Time

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    LuceroLucero
    No badges. No points.

I’m a big fan of Glenn Vilppu and his incredible contributions to the animation industry. I use New Masters Academy for lessons on constructive drawing, composition, and color theory.  I am a new artist, but I have a very specific goal: I want to be able to create ink and watercolor cartoon images like the classic American humor strips and comics.

My 100 Day Art Challenge is to draw a comic figure (or part of one) every day for 100 days. I was originally going to do 100 days of comic heads, but I want to have the option to work on the body, hands, feet, etc. Here goes nothing!

I’ve officially changed my 100-Day Art Challenge (it’s totally not against the rules). Over the past 30 days of this challenge, I’ve realized, more than focusing on any specific element of my drawing, that I just need to DRAW. I’ve never drawn so much in my life since I’ve started this challenge, and that’s my main issue. I just need to draw, enjoy the process, explore, and have fun. So that’s what I’m doing here. Will it be pretty? No. Will it be fun? Heck yes.

Here is a beautiful piece of work from the incredible Winsor McCay:

Josseline JeriaJosseline Jeria
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Lucero

Oh I’m so excited to see what you do! especially for the watercolour images. When I think of humor comic strips I think of Gary Larson’s Far Side. Sounds like you’ve been taking the perfect courses for your artistic goals.

Good luck and smash it!

LuceroLucero
    No badges. No points.