Kat’s 100 Heads Challenge

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Kat’s 100 Heads Challenge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    katkat
    Participant
    No points.

Hello,

I want to be more consistent. So I decided to do the 100 days challenge. I think that it is not going to be easy to keep up, but I see many people doing this challenge, which inspires me. My challenge is a head drawing a day, but it can be anatomy, planes, or features of the face. I don’t want to set the bar too high, so it can be a simple sketch in my sketchbook. For my challenge I decided to pick a subject that I am currently studying, and love. I am not sure that I could do a figure drawing challenge at this point, so heads it is.

Day 1 Piazzetta head copy in my sketchbook. Could have done a better job. Note to self – do a study of the full drawing on a bigger sheet of paper.Day 1 of 100 days challenge

katkat
    Participant
    No points.

Day 2

Very difficult angle for me, and I don’t have the energy to finish the ear. Drawing from reference found on Pinterest. I sketched it out yesterday, and today I realized that I am just copying, moving the lines, measuring again, and it shows in the end. So tomorrow I am going back to studying constructive methods, doing simple constructive sketches, and learning instead of copying the reference. I really like the reference though, so I might redraw this head again in 3 months, to see how I would approach it then.

Joshua JacoboJoshua Jacobo
    Keymaster
    No badges. No points.

Your commentary is spot on. Avoid copying. Do more constructive starts and worry less about finishes. For now just keeping up with your challenge daily is enough. I’ll check in once you really get cooking.

katkat
    Participant
    No points.