Watercolour portraits – any feedback appreciated!

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Watercolour portraits – any feedback appreciated!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nicole Wolpher
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi! I’ve been practicing painting watercolour portraits this past year, and would love to get some feedback/critique/reactions. Any suggestions on what could be improved or what I should focus on would be greatly appreciated. These are a few from the past two months. Thank you in advance – so happy to have found this community!

Birgith ScheiBirgith Schei
    Participant
    No points.

I think they all are beautiful, but if I had painted them I think I’ve had a few more colours, as in the second one, or even more. However I’m just an amateur.

TimTim
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Nicole I really enjoyed seeing these portraits  they are all convincing as real people and all feel technically correct .

I find These portraits very expressive and full of  emotion  I feel a lot of this is the sensitive  use of colour the way its subdued or the deep purply  blues and reds

thanks for letting us see these .

Best wishes

Tim

Nicole Wolpher
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Birgith! Thank you for your feedback, using more colours is something I do find a bit challenging so that’s definitely something I could explore more to have a broader range of expression. I will do some experiments 🙂 Thanks!

Nicole Wolpher
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Tim! Thank you for your response, I’m glad you enjoyed them! I am actually aiming to illustrate a book about emotions, so I’m pleased to read this is how you perceive them. Thanks for taking the time to have a look and to reply 🙂 All the best!

srsanyal
    Participant
    No points.

Hi ,