Pencil Portrait

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Pencil Portrait

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Antonio
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Any feedback is appreciated!

• This topic was modified 4 years, 1 month ago by Antonio. Reason: Image didn't upload last time; tried a smaller version
    NormanNorman
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

I am just starting out with head drawing, so I just try to apply what I think I learned so far. First of all, great work and a very lovely portrait – I like the pose and the emphasis on the eyes, which create a good focus.

I think the picture could improve by some more construction (but maybe that s just because I take Steve’c head construction classes. The nose seems a little off and also the eyes (left eye a little big maybe?) Some outlines are a little hard, while you kept the shadows quite light. I think it could improve by getting boldeer in the shadows (and emphasising form) and having less “lines”. (e.g. around the mouth and on the left contour).

Hope to see more from you. Keep up the great work! Drawing is all about practice (I hope :-D)

Antonio
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Thanks Norman, that’s all super useful advice! I think what you said is spot-on; I’ve had a feeling that my shading is too light, but your point about my over-use of line is something I hadn’t even realized before. Those are definitely things I’ll focus on going forward, along with how to better show form.

Josseline JeriaJosseline Jeria
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Antonio, this is a lovely portrait. I like the pose and how you’ve made the drawing to suit her facial expression and figure.