Pastel Portrait

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Pastel Portrait

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    JohnWolff
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

I was trying to use pastel pencils for the first time, but the paper does not permit erasures! So I resorted to a kneaded eraser anyway and did what I thought was possible. I think I am close, but “something just doesn’t look right”, which always seems to be correct….

GaryMGaryM
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi John

I like it – hope you don’t mind me suggesting a few things (just my thoughts-I’m not a professional and haven’t used pastels so these may not be any help whatsoever!).

I think you need to see the hair as larger shapes rather than individual strands and look for where the waves are in shadow and darker. Also the shadow under the chin and maybe the cheek could do with darkening to add more contrast. I also think the eye is a bit small. Ive played around in affinity photo and attach a version here with some rough alterations to show you what I was thinking.

Hope this is useful and doesn’t offend.

xelael
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hey, John.

Pastel is a wonderful material, isn’t it? It’s one of my favorites to work with.

It’s hard to analyze certain aspects of it from a photograph, but I have to assume through the image provided, so.

I would first encourage you to analyze the values of the overall reference. Notice how the face is actually much lighter in value, much brighter in color. Squint your eyes and try to compare the value of the mouth with the overall value of the face, and then compare it with your own drawing. Do the same to the hair, which looks much brighter in your piece, relative to the the face, than does the reference. The green underneath gives a nice cooler contrast to the warmth of the face, so that’s pretty good if you can preserve it.