Open Critique

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Open Critique

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    PetrStranik
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi, I’m a former student of yours, I have some pictures that I would like to get critique on if I would be so lucky ..

The first piece: I believe that I lost the concept somewhere in the process and for some reason something isn’t quite right: I call it honour and while doing preliminary I felt that it would be a great concept and picture. I would like to know opinion on composition as well as on execution – technical ability.

Second painting is a male figurative study. Do you feel that I should soften more edges?

The third one is a female in this instance:

Would be more than grateful to hear where to improve!

Regards from Czech republic, Petr Straník

haggiben
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi!

I’ll jump right in to it:
    First of all I love the muscle definition in all of your pieces, I think that is really one thing that stands out immediately. the way you used color and light to bring them into focus is something that I hope to be able to do someday.

I think that your compositions are done well and I love the vibrant colors. I actually enjoy just staring at the images, but the 1st image has a few problems I think:

this hand looks disconnected from

the rest of the body, and I would have left it in shadow

because the light is pulling to much attention to it,

while it seems to me that it is not the main focus of the entire composition.

this top part is cut off in an unfortunate place

as it is almost exactly on the neck

and I don’t think it is a good idea to crop between any two limbs,

also I’m not sure we need the empty space behind the back,

and perhaps cropping it would give this guy a sort of mirroring relationship with the other guy, giving that he is cropped that way as well.

hannah.pluott
    Participant