JJ’s 100 Day Challenge: Digital Painting

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge JJ’s 100 Day Challenge: Digital Painting

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    JJJJ
    Participant
    No points.

Hi NMA – I’m an aspiring concept artist/illustrator trying to improve my digital painting skills. I’ve been practising for about the last 6 months, so I’ve developed some skill already, but I’m looking to improve the consistency of overall quality in my work. I also don’t post my work anywhere, so I’m hoping this will get me more used to the idea.

I’ve mostly been doing portraits, but I’ll also be attempting figures, landscapes, and anything else that crosses my mind.  My work will probably be black and white (until after day 50 or so) so that I can focus strictly on values. I’m going to spend around 2 – 3 hours on each piece, but some pieces will end up more finished than others. I may go back and touch up previous pieces based on feedback.

Excited to see what happens by the 100th day

JJJJ
    Participant
    No points.

DAY 1:

I’ll be working directly from reference for the next while. I find most of my reference just by looking up portraiture on Pinterest. I didn’t include it here because I wasn’t sure If should – I don’t know what the rules are on that.

Anyways, this is a stronger start to the challenge than I thought it would be, but again, I’m trying to improve the consistency of quality in my work. I definitely have some uneven days ahead

JJJJ
    Participant
    No points.

DAY 2

The expression on the persons face was so difficult to get right! I didn’t even really capture it, but this was as close as I could get. The angle of the head proved very difficult as well. I redrew the base sketch many times to try and figure it out the piece as much as I could but at a certain point, I had to go for it.

Joshua JacoboJoshua Jacobo
    Keymaster
    No badges. No points.