How to draw the figure from imagination

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art Discussion Drawing How to draw the figure from imagination

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    NuriaGomis Berenguer
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi!

My long term objective is drawing a comic book series. I’ve been practising figure drawing for almost 2 years (here: https://www.instagram.com/nuria_s_flow/ you can see some of my drawings). But I am not able to draw the figure from imagination, neither a figure with cloths on. I don’t know if I should continue drawing figure from reference or try to draw it from imagination (even they look awful).

I don’t know where to continue on. Should I continue drawing figure from reference or should I keep trying drawing it from imagination? or both of them?

NathanNathan
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hey mate,

I just checked out your instagram. Great stuff. I love your recent work on the skulls!

Regarding figure drawing, don’t be so harsh on using references. Everybody (even the best artists) use references, even when detailing a character concept.

If you wish to draw the figure from memory, it will come in time and with practice. I recommend going through the some of the figure drawing classes here.

The way I learned to do the figure from memory is to start with simple shapes. Like the basic lines and cylinders for the body and then refine your shapes as you go. Much like a sculpture would refine his shapes as he carves his marble.

So in short answer, do both. Use references and put aside time to build a pose from memory. You will learn either way and both with impact your overall figure drawing.

mauribarnett
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Nice work on your instagram…

sambraithwaitesambraithwaite
    Participant
    No badges. No points.