First Portrait drawing since starting NMA – please critique and provide feedback

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique First Portrait drawing since starting NMA – please critique and provide feedback

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Amedu
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi NMA community,

I hope you are all well.

My name is Christopher Amedu  – I’m 23 and I come from the UK.

I started NMA in December and here is a portrait I finished today. I know it can be improved but I can’t put my finger on it – I really need a fresh pair of eyes to critique and review my drawing.

Portrait

Here is the reference:

Thank you for taking the time to look at my drawing – have a wonderful day.

Thanks

Chris

JayleneJaylene
    Participant
    No points.

Hi Christopher:  First off I should let you know I am a beginner but I have been on NMA for almost 2 years.  I hope you don’t mind if I practice my critiquing by making a comment on your portrait.  I think you caught the expression very well.  That quirky smile.   I don’t think I know enough myself to be able to point out “fundamental” issues but what did pop out to me was the eye socket and forehead on the viewers left.  It seems a bit wide compared to your reference.  It might be a perspective issue because while her head is straight forward compared to her body, the point of view of the camera is off to one side slightly.    I always forget to do this myself but it really does help to check your  drawing by looking at it in a mirror.    Thanks for letting me comment.  Its a very nice portrait.  I hope you see more of your work and I hope you will critique my work. 🙂

John McCaughey
    Participant
    No badges. No points.