Classical here in the UK

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Start Here: Introduce Yourself! Classical here in the UK

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Sean FrancisSean Francis
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi all,

I’m a 40 year old ex tattoo artist now work towards a masters degree in fine art.

I’ve had a life long obsession with classical, neo-classical & baroque sculpture, and more recently Russian academic drawing.  The later was introduced to me through NMA free YouTube videos 🙂 I enjoy clay sculpture and traditional pencil work, looking forward to learning more and hopefully meeting peers 👍

TimTim
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Sean

I started learning in July 2020 , sounds like you already have a degree  , what’s the emphasis of Russian academic ? (not that I am ready ) .I am serious about drawing  and feel feedback critique is really helpful and just sharing Ideas might see your work on the forum sometime .

Kind regards

Tim

Lewis HoughtonLewis Houghton
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Sean, welcome! I’m a newbe here too also from the UK. Thats really cool you were a tattoo artist, how come you stoped? I’ve always wanted a tattoo but was always too sacred to commit haha

Sean FrancisSean Francis
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Tim,

Thank you for the welcome note

In regards to the Russian academic style, I find it visual stunning and it’s manner of capture especially through life drawing is of its own class. Being that it’s instantly recognisable from other forms of drawing…well I think so ha 🙂

Sean FrancisSean Francis
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Lewis,

Thank you for the welcome reply.