acrylic paints?

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Website Suggestions and Wish List acrylic paints?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Eva VerhoevenEva Verhoeven
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi, I jus joined NMA yesteray and love all the content. Some questions though… I am mainly interested in portrait- and figure drawing and painting. Until now I’ve only painted with acrylics. All the painting courses on NMA are using oils. What is the reason for this? is it your opinion that oils are better then acrylic? And can I still do the painting lessons but use acrylic instead of oils? And will there ever be lessons using acrylic paints?

I am a bit ‘scared’ of oils because of the fumes and the long drying time as I work in a room that doubles as my bedroom…

Liza
    Participant
    No points.

I would be quite interested to know if there are plans to add an acrylic course on here, as a complete beginner I think they are a lot more accessible than oils.

Participant
    No badges. No points.

Exactly Liza…plus, even with a little more or a lot of experience, many people choose acrylics over oils. So I am really wondering why all the painting courses on NMA are in oils. Would be nice if someone from the NMA staff could react.

MaartjeMaartje
    Participant
    No points.

I am interested in courses on acrylics too!
    However, I am also starting to paint with oils in the new year because I want to move the paint around longer than the acrylic medium lets me.