What went wrong?:Potrait sketch

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique What went wrong?:Potrait sketch

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    srsanyal
    Participant
    No points.

Hi,
    I am an amateur artist ,tried this graphite and charcoal potrait of leonardo di caprio but lost the likeness ,would much appreciate a critique.
    Regards
    Mr.Sanyal

Mengu Gungor
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hey Mr Sanyal, I can definitely recognize him, and I think the shapes of the features are very close to your reference, you did well there. However, a lot of the essence of likeness comes from the overall gesture, big shapes, placement and size of the features. We can recognize someone we know from a hundred feet away in a crowd from just a basic silhouette. So, though the individual features are important, we have to pay attention to the big picture all the time, to capture and maintain a likeness. I still struggle with this as well, but that is the advise I have gotten myself.