Self Portrait Oil

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Self Portrait Oil

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Boris CruseBoris Cruse
    Participant
    No points.

Working in greyscale dipping in and out of Joseph Todorovitch portrait course.
    Coming to terms with controlling the palette. Starting another today working in natural light.I’d really like to get better structure round the eye. Loving working in oils. Venturing into colour with the Zorn palette at the weekend. Scary stuff

Thanks for taking the time. Any feedback appreciated.

Boris

• This topic was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Boris CruseBoris Cruse.
    JackJack
    Participant
    No points.

Hello there Boris – I was waiting for someone more experienced and proficient to provide a critique, but I thought I’d jump in to get things started. As you know, I’m a beginner who hasn’t dabbled in painting yet, so my thoughts are limited to that of a spectator rather than a do-er! It might be helpful to others to know what your goals are, stylistic aspirations, known weaknesses, etc?

What I enjoy most about your self-portrait is the broken brushwork – especially how it’s used to describe the form around the mouth, chin, neck, and right cheek. It provides an abstraction, with bold placement of values, whilst also being purposeful and quite delicate. It’s great. It also provides contrast with the flat value applied to the left/right planes of the forehead –  focusing the viewer on the important features of the face. There is an immediate ‘read’ and sense of character.  There’s a little glint in the smile suggesting you’re enjoying yourself! Nothing stands out as being particularly off to me.