Savina's Sketchbook

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Sketchbooks Savina's Sketchbook

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    WanderlustWanderlust
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi everyone,

I’m so excited about NMA’s new look – yay for us students! 🙂

My name is Savina and I’m a fairytale artist.

I’m a little reticent to post my sketches here, to be honest, because I’m so SO far from where I want to be with my art, but I’m hoping that sharing my journey will help me to push to improve more. I hope we can get some student critique groups going too – that would be great!

Please feel free to offer feedback if you feel like it on any of my pieces – I don’t get offended – especially if you see an area I seem to be struggling with. I look forward to chatting with everyone here!

So without further ado, here’s my 1st set of recent sketches (cringe!):

WIP OF AN OWL:

WIP OF THE THREE BEARS

WIP OF A BEAR VS SQUIRREL:

As you can see, I struggle with shading, perspective & environments and clothing. This year I’m going to be focusing mostly on composition, perspective & environments and shading. The funny thing is that I had no problem shading a finished drawing, but I really struggle to shade a sketch because I don’t grasp the different techniques yet.

Next, I’ll include some of my animal studies, along with a couple of my finished pieces.

I’ll try to update this at least once a week, since I sketch every night. 🙂

DeanyDeany
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Awesome drawings and paintings you’ve got! Can I ask a question, please? I’m wondering how long ago have you started drawing/painting and what approach have you used to improve your skills? Got someplace where I might follow your progress? Thank you

WanderlustWanderlust
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi @andrix9743 – thank you for the compliment!