Raven’s 100 Day Foundations Challenge

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Raven’s 100 Day Foundations Challenge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 174 total)
  • Author
    Raven KushnerRaven Kushner
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day One

Challenge: I will complete and post the exercises for the courses I am taking at New Masters Academy. On days with no exercises, I will post sketch book practice or works in progress.

Why: To solidify my realistic drawing and painting skills so that I can become more well-rounded and versatile, (I normally work in abstract) and work towards my dream of becoming an amazing artist.

I have a 2-year art degree, which I got later in life. I was unable to go any further because I already had a bachelor’s degree in English – unless I wanted to go to an expensive private school (nope!). I always felt bad about that until I found this school.

I am nervous to post foundational  drawing and painting practice because it’s boring and my work is not good. I am much older and less experienced than probably most of the people here. However, I am putting ego aside in order to get where I need to be.

Cylinders

Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day 2:

I’m happy that I’m going back and getting this foundational knowledge. Even though I have an Associate’s in Art, certain topics weren’t covered in depth. I had to go to YouTube for some of the information on cones because the camera panned out for some reason on certain parts that I found challenging. I’m taking the Russian Drawing class and it’s great.

Cones

Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day 3

No exercises today. Also, I’m clarifying my goal. I will do the exercises that I need to do to fill in the gaps. Otherwise, I will be doing whatever practice I need to do or working on projects.  This is an abstract I completed today except for signature and final touches.

Oil on canvas 11" x 14" "Enchanted"