Ram’s 100 Day Challenge: Gesture and Structure | Figure Drawing

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Ram’s 100 Day Challenge: Gesture and Structure | Figure Drawing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 124 total)
  • Author
    Shravan
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi all, my name is Ram Pranav. I’m an aspiring 3D character artist for video game industry. I’ve started drawing about a month ago and focused on the fundamentals – observing objects, simplifying complex objects and study perspective. In this time frame, most of my practice sessions (2-3 hours a day) were spent on drawing basic shapes (boxes, spheres and cylinders). I feel I am comfortable drawing them now and so want to apply it in other aspects like figure drawing.

My drawings are not good at this phase of learning and want to improve it consistently. I welcome suggestions, criticism so that I can learn from you all, experts.

I am focusing on at most two parts of a body, when I feel (or you kind people suggest) that I am comfortable drawing them at any angles, I will move onto other parts of the body.

My end goal by the 100th day mark is to be comfortable in drawing the figure through gesture and structures.

Day 1: Head and Torso

It took me 3 hours to draw 2 A3 size sheets of head/torso figures. Is 3 hours way too long to do this. Most of my drawings are of the same reference. Sometimes I draw the models too skinny or bulge them up way too much. I am not focusing on proportion yet, but I feel I must start focusing on it now to make my drawings better. My profile head drawings need way more improvement. Please suggest on what I can do to improve.

Page 1<!–more–>

Page 2

Raven KushnerRaven Kushner
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Welcome, Ram!