Oil painting in progress

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Open Critique Oil painting in progress

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Rachel DeSantisRachel DeSantis
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hello! I am new to NMA. I am at this point self taught and I am sure I have more than one bad painting habit but the main issue I can’t seem to shake is that I paint very thin…I just can’t seem to load my brushes up properly. Is there any tip any pros can give me on this? Exercises or something? In addition to this question I have been working on this painting for the past 4 days and I am definitely not done (I only just finished the base layer of paint I haven’t used any solvents for translucent detail work yet) but was hoping you all could give me some tips. Thank you!

Josseline JeriaJosseline Jeria
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Rachel 🙂 I LOVE this painting! The composition, lighting, gestures of the figures, treatment of the fabrics, I’m working on being able to paint this well! You’ve done so much in such a short time frame. I am a very slow painter.