Dane’s 100 Day Art Challenge(2nd Attempt): Portraits/ Head Drawing

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Dane’s 100 Day Art Challenge(2nd Attempt): Portraits/ Head Drawing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 128 total)
  • Author
    DaneThibeault
    Participant
    No points.

Hi Everyone!

My name is Dane and I’m an aspiring illustrator from Calgary, Canada. This is my second stab at the 100 day art challenge. My first challenge was to create a colour illustration everyday, but I found that prompt to be a little too vague, and colour isn’t really a priority for me right now. I am really interested in editorial illustration and celebrity portraits for publications like the New Yorker, so my second go around will be focussed on doing a portrait, mostly of celebrities, each day to build my characterization/likeness and design skills. Current editorial illustration tends to be more stylized, but I’m really interested in trying to incorporate some of the techniques used by Mark Westermoe and Chris Legaspi in their movie poster illustrations. I’m going to keep my media choice open so that I can explore different techniques, and I will be attempting different levels of finish, some sketchier and others more refined.

For day one I did a quick mixed media sketch of Ariana Grande on toned paper using a combination of prismacolor, verithin and chalk. Please feel free to give suggestions on which celebrities/public figures you would like to see!

Thanks!

DaneDay One: Toned Paper

DaneThibeault
    Participant
    No points.

Day Two: