Shannon’s 100 Day Art Challenge : Expression & Emotion study in graphite

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Shannon’s 100 Day Art Challenge : Expression & Emotion study in graphite

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Shannon
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

I have been drawing with graphite for about ten years now. I have noticed my progress but I feel like I could do more if I challenge myself.

Shannon
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

This is the first day (yesterday) of my challenge. I’m not really happy with it but it’s a start 💁🏻‍♀️

Christopher
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi Shannon,

Your experience in graphite is definitely noticable if it’s about your values and overall rendering. So I would say just keep working on your structure + proportions to balance it out and your work should improve drastically 👍👋

Shannon
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Thank you Christopher! I definitely need help with my values, I always seem to draw things way too dark. I’m going to look some activities to improve those things. I really appreciate your feedback…
    Would you be able to answer a question? Is there a way to edit the original post? I accidently hit submit before I detailed the reason I’m taking this challenge.

Christopher
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Even if it might be overall to dark, in my opinion if we talk about graphite most people got problems getting dark values. That’s why I said your values are good. Maybe you crossed the line but from that point it’s basically just a back and forth until you found a decent middle ground.

I think starting to group your values based on their local values could help. Bill Perkins has some great lessons about major and minor keys which is a value system.