How do you organise your drawing practicec

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art Discussion Drawing How do you organise your drawing practicec

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Josseline JeriaJosseline Jeria
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi everyone

I am curious to hear how you all organise your study. Do you focus on one type of study per day/week/month?  are there specific ones you do every day?

I don’t have a specific weekly structure in place, so I want to work on setting one out. I am not working on any one of the practices (outlined below) for enough time over each month overall, and I am unsure what would be a good way to go about creating a weekly and monthly structure.

I find I tend to scatter all my drawing practices throughout the week than what may be appropriate. I too am perhaps working on too many different things at a time, rather than limiting to just a few areas of focus. I am relatively new to drawing so I am very keen to improve, which is what contributes to this scattering, and also feeling overwhelmed by it all.

The drawing practices I’ve been working on generally on monthly basis are:

1) the most basics of basics – drawing straight and curved lines, cubes, cylinders, spheres and trying to “move” them in various ways in space’; 2) observational drawing; 3) portrait drawing (though I have’t been working on this much of recently, and I do just full portraits, not yet focusing on specific forms); 4) more recently gesture drawing; 5) old masters studies; 6) trying to do some drawing form imagination, which I struggle with immensely.

So yes, keen to up my drawing game, and in part that is improving your practice.

Thanks in advance for sharing, and of course, keep drawing!

JayleneJaylene
    Participant
    No points.