Hey! I’m Ivan from Croatia. Here’s my story.

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Start Here: Introduce Yourself! Hey! I’m Ivan from Croatia. Here’s my story.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    IvanIvan
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi all,

I’m Ivan, 25, from Croatia. Currently, I am living in the UK and working as an IT professional. I am a complete beginner at drawing and hope to improve. This will be a bit personal, I hope you don’t mind.

My interest in art was piqued at around 16. I’m dyslexic and dyspraxic and always had severe struggles in school, I spent most of my time trying to catch up to others and trying to finish school despite my disabilities. It was quite difficult and traumatising, but I found solace in video games and other forms of media, and at 16 I started discovering and appreciating the concept of “art”. Most notably, Disney and Kingdom Hearts were a little artistic revolution in my heart. From the compositions of Yoko Shimomura to the animation of The Lion King, I found a comfort bubble for myself where I finally felt like I belonged. It really changed the way I see art as a whole, and from then on, I surrounded myself with art.

I tried my hand at drawing at around that age but had issues with starting and keeping at it, school did not make this any easier. So I spent the next almost-decade repeatedly starting and inevitably giving up on my hobby of drawing. I am 25 now, I finished university and just had my 1 year anniversary at my job. A lot has changed, but what hasn’t is my drive to draw. I still struggle massively with starting, motivation, self-criticism, being consistent and disciplined, but I hope to eventually overcome this as I take baby steps towards my art journey. I’m still here, after all, despite everything.