Finally focusing on art the way I’ve always wanted to

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Start Here: Introduce Yourself! Finally focusing on art the way I’ve always wanted to

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Alison Murray WhittingtonAlison Murray Whittington
    Participant
    No points.

Hello, everyone!

Once a journalist and TV producer, I have been a map artist for more than a decade, making and selling ink-and-watercolor maps of real and imaginary places both, but after several big life changes, with more to come, I decided it was time to pursue my longtime interest in visual storytelling and illustration more intently, buckle down, and really study to get where I want to be. I realized pretty quickly that my foundational drawing skills were severely limited, in spite of years of selling my art and after taking art instruction repeatedly over the years, but I now homeschool our kids full time, so outside classes are a very tough fit with our family schedule, and grad school is a near-impossible dream. So I decided to build my own study program from many different resources. After finding a lot to YouTube tutorials that were kind of helpful but not in-depth, I started browsing online for “real” art instruction to help me bring my basic skills up to speed, and signed up for a NMA membership several months ago after watching several NMA videos on YouTube.

I started with the “Constructive Figure Drawing” course, with Steve Huston, and am about a third of the way into that, but diverted to start the “Head Drawing for Beginners” course, and am currently on Portrait Drawing for Beginners, Part 3, with Chris Legaspi.