Bryan’s 100 Day Challenge: Figure Drawing in Oil Pastels

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Bryan’s 100 Day Challenge: Figure Drawing in Oil Pastels

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 281 total)
  • Author
    Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

I’ve been a student of New Master’s Academy for about a month. Since I joined, I’ve mostly been focusing on figure drawing. I am also new to the medium of oil pastels. I hope to learn and improve in both areas.

• This topic was modified 3 years, 11 months ago by Joshua JacoboJoshua Jacobo.
    Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day 1. I messed up the head by making the eyebrows too high. I just tried to blur it out rather than start over.

Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day 2. Struggling with the medium and getting the colors to blend. Drawing this pose was challenging.

• This reply was modified 3 years, 12 months ago by Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe.
    Joshua JacoboJoshua Jacobo
    Keymaster
    No badges. No points.

Great work here and an interesting challenge. A couple of thoughts: 1. Try to think more about the balance and placement of the feet on the ground. 2. Maybe introduce some environment around the figures since you are working with color

Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Thank you Joshua. I will work on both of your suggestions.

Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

A lot of experimentation today. Trying cool green/gray shadows. Putting in a background. Having trouble with the face and had to erase too many times, so I just blurred it out. The model pose was a little more dynamic than what I ended up with. Struggling with feet and hands. Still having a little trouble blending colors.

PaulDidier
    Participant
    No points.