Dean G’s 100-Day Digital Painting Challenge

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Challenges & Activities 100 Day Art Challenge Dean G’s 100-Day Digital Painting Challenge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 115 total)
  • Author
    DeanGiberson
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hi all I want to learn to “paint” digitally. I’ve been learning with graphite and pen and ink but always shy away from color. I will, for 100 days, work on a digital painting piece to learn more about the medium and force myself to work in color.

DeanGiberson
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Day 1 – I’ve been working on this in 10-20 minute chunks for a few days. It’s pushed me well out of my comfort zone. Lots to improve.

Bryan MccabeBryan Mccabe
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Hello Dean,

Cool challenge. I am also trying to work with colors for my challenge. I am using oil pastels for the human figure. I am a beginner at this, but one thing I’ve discovered recently that might help you a bit is that the figure is often far more colorful than it appears at first glance. Lots more yellows, reds, oranges, and greens blended with the peachy skin color. I’m still trying to figure out how to use a lot more color and still make it look realistic. It’s a pretty difficult task. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress, and let me know if you have some good tips.

Bryan.

Joshua JacoboJoshua Jacobo
    Keymaster
    No badges. No points.

Great work. “Out of your comfort zone” is where the growth happens so keep it up!

DeanGiberson
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

Once I took a moment away I realized that I started cutting into the size of left eye. Repainted that. Looks much better, but still not getting the form correctly. I’ve also just realized that the shape of the nose is off and that puts the relationship between the eye and the nose highlight along the side in the wrong places.